Daddy long leg

Wouldn’t you know it! While I was wearing my beek gloves this evening I spotted him crawling through the grass. It was a daddy long leg spider carrying a honey bee in its mouth. Had my gloves on so was not able to get a picture.

At first I thought this had been a very odd occurrence. Then after I thought about it for bit 2&2 finally came together. Of coarse the eat honey bees they are spiders.

The question is have any of you encountered such a thing? I have to think this is probably a very common thing.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in beekeeping
2 comments on “Daddy long leg
  1. Just a correction there. Daddy longlegs aren’t actually spiders, they belong to the same class of arachnids but have only 2 eyes, no venom nor silk, see the wiki article (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Opiliones). They will also not “hunt”, they are scavengers, if they find a dead one they’ll eat it.

    • bdbatta says:

      Thank you for the reply. I don’t know anything about daddy long legs. It was just interesting to see one carrying a honey bee off. It’s good to know they aren’t threatening to my colonies.

Leave a comment

//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js (adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 65 other subscribers
Categories
Wild Foodism

THE WORLD'S MOST NATURAL DIET

Berks County PA Honey Bee Removal 19601

Free Honey Bee Swarm Removal (484)904-2809

Misty Meadows Homestead & more!

...it's where the adventures begin!

A Library Companion

It's about the books I'm reading or have just read

The Literary Workshop Blog

Making what I need with my hands.

The Furniture Record

Capturing Furniture in the Wild

Journeyman's Journal

This is a journal of the art of woodworking by hand